Sunday, August 12, 2012

Hawaii primary election roundup: Hirono, Lingle, Gabbard, Crowley, Hanabusa, Djou and more from all the islands

Linda Lingle vs. Mazie Hirono
Hawaii Elections Office: Final Summary report.

U.S. Rep. Mazie Hirono won the Democratic primary in Hawaii for an open U.S. Senate seat on Saturday night, setting up a race in November against former Hawaii Gov. Linda Lingle, who won her primary easily. Associated Press.

U.S. Rep. Mazie Hirono scored a decisive victory over former U.S. Rep. Ed Case in the Democratic primary for U.S. Senate on Saturday night and pivoted toward a November showdown with former Gov. Linda Lingle. Star-Advertiser.

Mazie Hirono handily defeated Ed Case by a margin of 57-40 percent in the Democratic primary race for the U.S. Senate, according to the voting results released late Saturday. Civil Beat.

U.S. Rep. Mazie Hirono won Hawaii's Democratic nomination for U.S. Senate Saturday after taking a 16-point lead over former U.S. Rep. Ed Case, setting the stage for a rematch of the 2002 governor's race against Republican Linda Lingle. Pacific Business News.

In the contests to determine which candidates will vie for the U.S. Senate seat being vacated by Daniel Akaka, Representative Mazie Hirono (132,865 votes, 57.65 percent) defeated opponent Ed Case (94,294 votes, 40.92 percent) for the Democratic nomination, and former Hawaii Gov. Linda Lingle claimed the Republican nomination with 43,637 votes, or a whopping 91.69 percent. Hawaii News Now.

Republican Linda Lingle received an overwhelming majority of the votes and will face Mazie Hirono.   Hirono ended up with a huge win over fellow democrat Ed Case. KITV4.

Honolulu City Councilwoman Tulsi Gabbard won a resounding and surprising victory Saturday over former Honolulu Mayor Mufi Hannemann for the 2nd Congressional District Democratic nomination. Star-Advertiser.

First-term Honolulu City Council member Tulsi Gabbard defeated former Honolulu Mayor Mufi Hannemann and four others in the race for the Democratic Party nomination for Hawaii's vacant 2nd Congressional District seat. Civil Beat.

Honolulu City Councilwoman Tulsi Gabbard won the Democratic nomination for Hawaii's 2nd Congressional District Saturday with a 20-point lead over former Mayor Mufi Hannemann. Pacific Business News.

In a stunning upset, Honolulu City Councilwoman Tulsi Gabbard (61,803 votes, 55.14 percent) trounced Mufi Hannemann (38,451 votes, 34.31 percent) in the race to determine the Democratic nominee for Mazie Hirono's vacated seat in the second Congressional district of the U.S. House of Representatives. Hawaii News Now.

Newcomer congressional candidate Tulsi Gabbard won a surprisingly easy victory in her 2nd Congressional District race against former Honolulu Mayor Mufi Hannemann tonight. Hawaii Reporter.

U.S. Rep. Colleen Hanabusa has won the Democratic nomination in her quest for re-election to the seat serving urban Honolulu's 1st Congressional District. Hawaii News Now.


Honolulu will have a new mayor in 2013. But whether it will be an anti-rail former governor or a former city managing director committed to seeing the $5.26 billion project through will be determined in November. Star-Advertiser.

Former Hawaii Gov. Ben Cayetano will face Kirk Caldwell during November's General Election as the two candidates seek to become Honolulu's next mayor. Hawaii News Now.

With virtually all the vote in, former Hawaii Gov. Ben Cayetano retained a consistent and sizable lead in the Honolulu mayor's race. Civil Beat.

Honolulu City Councilman Tom Berg will face off against state Rep. Kymberly Marcos Pine in the Nov. 6 general election as he fights to hang onto his seat. Star-Advertiser.

Former Hawaii Gov. Ben Cayetano finished well ahead of two other challengers Saturday in a three-way race for Honolulu mayor but will face second-place finisher Kirk Caldwell in a runoff in the general election after falling short of the majority needed to win. Pacific Business News.

State Rep. Jessica Wooley toppled House Majority Leader Pono Chong in Windward Oahu on Saturday, as redistricting forced some legislators into tough races where they faced off against other Democratic incumbents. Star-Advertiser.

Laura Thielen, a newcomer to the Democratic Party, defeated state Sen. Pohai Ryan in the Demo­cratic primary for the state Senate's 25th District, which covers Hawaii Kai, Waimanalo and Kailua. Star-Advertiser.

Voter turnout for Saturday's primary election didn't pick up much from the last time there was a presidential campaign underway, despite a hot Honolulu mayor's race and a historic campaign for the open U.S. Senate seat. Civil Beat.

Meet the new boss — same as the old boss. The lyrics from the classic Who song will ring true in Hawaii County this year, no matter which of the top two mayoral candidates prevails in the Nov. 6 General Election. West Hawaii Today.

Mayor Billy Kenoi finished strongly in Saturday’s primary, winning 42.5 percent of the vote and leading his nearest challenger by more than eight points. Tribune-Herald.

Lincoln Ashida lost an early lead Saturday night and found himself facing former co-worker Mitch Roth in a Nov. 6 runoff for county prosecutor. West Hawaii Today.

Legislative aide Karen Eoff stepped easily into her boss’ shoes Saturday, overcoming her sole opponent in the race for the vacant County Council District 8 seat with a decisive 78.7 percent of the vote. West Hawaii Today.

Voters on Saturday elected Zendo Kern and Karen Eoff to the County Council and re-elected J Yoshimoto, but left four other seats up for grabs in the Nov. 6 general election runoff. Tribune-Herald.

Incumbent Malama Solomon defeated former state legislator Lorraine Inouye to become the Democratic nominee for Hawaii Island’s new state Senate seat Saturday night, while businessman Russell Ruderman ensured long-time Big Island representative Robert Herkes will not return to the Legislature. West Hawaii Today.

Russell Ruderman shocked a field of political veterans to win the Democratic primary for the state Senate. Tribune-Herald.

Political newcomer Nicole Lowen prevailed in the four-way race for the Democratic Party’s nomination for the state’s 6th House District. West Hawaii Today.

Some West Hawaii voters were irritated after waiting more than a hour at their polling places to cast their ballots Saturday morning. West Hawaii Today.

Problems for a first-time Hawaii County clerk on election night represented Saturday's biggest primary election glitch. Star-Advertiser.


In the most closely watched races in Maui County, incumbent Gil Keith-Agaran held on to his Central Maui 9th District House seat and Kaniela Ing captured the Democratic primary for the 11th District House seat encompassing South Maui with all precincts reporting Saturday night. Maui News.

First-time candidate Kaniela Ing secured the Democratic Party nomination Saturday to face incumbent Republican state Rep. George Fontaine in the South Maui House race in the Nov. 6 general election. Maui News.

Incumbent Council Member Mike Victorino captured 58.4 percent of the vote in the race for the Wailuku residency seat with all the votes counted. Maui News.

2012 Maui Primary Results. Maui Now.


With a field of only nine candidates — including all seven incumbents — fighting for one of the seven seats at the Kaua‘i County Council, first-term Councilwoman Nadine Nakamura came at the top of the list for the next council body in Saturday’s Primary Election. Garden Island.

No comments:

Post a Comment